Certified Lay Minister Courses

Register for classes online by clicking on the course titles below. Questions? Contact Dave Brant at dbrant@greatplainsumc.org or 316-684-0266. Your course registration confirmation email will list required and recommended texts for your class. You will be responsible for obtaining the books you need. 

The coursework for the 4 Modules can be found through the BeADisciple website. The three additional classes (Old Testament, New Testament, and Preaching) may be found on the upcoming courses page. The Lay Academy for Rural Church Ministries courses can be found at larcm.org/lay-training.

Online access for courses will be sent by email at least one day prior to the start of the course.

Each course costs $75. Payment can be made online during registration, or by check.

To ensure the best possible course experience, please review the Online Learning System Requirements page.

January 2018    
Jan 8 - Feb 2 New Testament
Web Only

Rev. Quentin Bennett
qbennett@greatplainsumc.org

     
February 2018    
Feb 5 - Mar 2 Leadership & Administration
Web Only

Rev. Mark Crist
mcrist@greatplainsumc.org

*NEW FORMAT* Intensive weekend session, Feb. 2-3

Mission & Social Concerns
Feb. 2-3 in person (location TBD), submit assignments throughout month of February (see registration form for more information)

Rev. Kalaba Chali
kchali@greatplainsumc.org
     
April 2018    
April 2 - 28 Preaching
Web and face-to-face meeting on Saturday, April 28th
(location TBD)
Rev. Quentin Bennett qbennett@greatplainsumc.org
   
May 2018    
May 7 - June 1 Pastoral Care
Web Only
Rev. Mark Crist
mcrist@greatplainsumc.org
     
June 2018    
June 4 - 29 Old Testament
Web Only
Rev. Jeff Slater
jslater@greatplainsumc.org
     
July 2018    
July 9 - Aug 3 History 
Web Only
Rev. Dr. Marian Adell
a2zinky@gmail.com
     
August 2018    
Aug 6 - 31

Evangelism
Web Only

Rev. Jeff Slater
jslater@greatplainsumc.org
September 2018    
Sept 3 - 28 Worship
Web Only
Rev. Abby Caseman
acaseman@greatplainsumc.org
     
November 2018    
Nov 5 - 30 Theology & Doctrine
Web Only
Rev. Dr. Marian Adell
a2zinky@gmail.com